Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials

Wednesday 3rd May - Sunday 7th May, 2017 #MMBHT

Jesse Campbell

New Zealand
  • 30 - Kaapachino


It will be a first Badminton for New Zealand rider Jesse Campbell (26), a member of the New Zealand High Performance squad. Jesse is currently based near Marlborough – he first came to the UK in 2011.

Jesse developed his competitive ambitions through Pony Club – aged 15 he was Champion Equitation young rider and selected to the NZ Eventing senior talent squad. He worked with thoroughbreds off the track and developed a number of ex-racehorses. He took Volitation to advanced with who he then represented NZ at the Trans-Tasman eventing championships; Badminton entry Kaapachino has also been brought through the grades from ex racehorse to advanced eventer.

In 2009 he was invited to the UK to train with Mark Todd and in 2010 awarded a Prime Ministers Scholarship to travel to Sweden to train with Lisen and Pedar Fredrickson. For the next 18months Jesse worked under Andrew Nicholson then established his own yard close by.

In 2013 he was a member of the NZ Nations Cup team and in 2014 competed at the Swedish international eventing grand prix.

Jesse trains with dressage judge Isobel Wessels and Luis Alvarez-Cevera. He enjoys all sports, particularly rugby and enjoys skiing and travelling.

Kaapachino is a 13-year-old ‘off the track’ New Zealand thoroughbred by Kaapstad (a son of Sir Tristram). He was bought in NZ as a six-year-old. The combination won the U25CCI2* at Tattersalls in 2011 and in 2015 the CIC3* at Millstreet and completed their first four-star at Luhmuhlen.



NZTB, New Zealand, 2003
16.3hh, bay, gelding

Sire Kaapstad

Dam Right Tune ()

Breeder Ms M E Kent

Owner(s): Craig Campbell, c/o Marlborough, Wilts.
& Rider

Notable Results

2015 – Boekelo CICO3* 26th Kaapachino
2015 – Millstreet CIC3* 1st Kaapachino
2015 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 16th Kaapachino
2013 – Blair Castle CCI3* 4th Kaapachino
2013 – Hartpury CIC3* 14th Kaapachino
2013 – Houghton Hall CICO3* 9th Kaapachino
2012 – Boekelo CICO3* 20th Kaapachino